Microsoft Phone Scams

 

BTInet wants to make sure all of our customers and non customers are aware of current ongoing scams.    We recently published a blog post on Microsoft Phone ScamsPLEASE be aware that this scam is currently hitting North Dakota.

This week I personally received this scam phone call at my house.  Being I was well aware of this scam going on I tried to ask this ‘unknown’ person a few questions on the phone.  Needless to say they hung up on me –more than likely they knew that I was aware of this scam.  However I do have caller ID — please be aware of any phone number such as 78965.  It was not a normal phone number nor did it have 10 digits.  This unknown person did have an accent – but I am not sure where they were from

To read more on this current scam going on please click on the link below provided by Microsoft.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/protect/forum/protect_scanning/phone-call-scams/aefc50a4-d7a4-4c79-8db5-2fafcd6ad196

 

About BTInet
Server hosting, Linux, Windows, Sun, Solaris, Dedicated servers, virtual private servers, firewalls, internet service provider, exchange, oracle, SQL server

One Response to Microsoft Phone Scams

  1. Charlotte Flynn says:

    Glad you brought this up. I felt obligated to post because I also received a call like that and it was extremely annoying. This guy wouldn’t take “no” for an answer. Told him I wasn’t interested and he would respond with a contradiction and he’d always reason out why I should let him fix my computer. I was extremely irritated that I came up with a prank. I pretended to finally believe him and told him I’d place him on hold to turn my computer on, to which he eagerly agreed to. Then I made an outgoing call to the local police department and transferred the man to them. Hahaha! Got that idea from a complaint posted at http://www.callercenter.com. Good thing I remembered and I thought that was really funny.

    But just the same, these scammers are very harassing. The authorities ought to do something about this.

Leave a Reply

